A Week Of Lasts

Yes, the time has come for me to start winding down all that I am doing here in South Africa and begin thinking about heading back to the UK (although I am trying to only do the latter after my holiday this weekend!). But, in finishing up here, it has meant that I have done things for the last time. I’m not going to lie, it has been a very emotional week.

Friday:
Over the past year, it has been such a privilege to be a part of the youth team. I have seen so many young people grow in their relationship with God and, in turn, it has only encouraged me more. 

This past Friday, we had an end of term party, which was a lot of fun. Much food was eaten, and I don’t think I have ever laughed so much whilst playing 30 Seconds. Apparently, a seal meows according to Ignite! 

I just want to say thank you to all of the kids that have made Friday nights so enjoyable over the past year. I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you all better and building solid relationships with each of you. 

Sunday:
To say that Sunday was an emotional day would be an understatement. 

I led worship for the last time and even danced!! Evidence of this dancing can be found on Facebook for all those interested! But as well as this, it was my last Sunday with the de Bruins, so it was time to say goodbye. I know that it wasn’t my last ever service (I have one left – 9th July), but it was incredibly emotional just listening to all that they were saying. I was also presented with the most beautiful Bible I have ever seen. Honestly, words can not describe how grateful I am for that lovely gift. 

As is tradition on a Sunday in the de Bruin household, we sit down for a family dinner. This one, however, was coined “The Last Supper” by Chloe. Obviously, it wasn’t the last ever meal I will eat with them – just wait until you see pictures of this coming weekend – but it was the last Sunday lunch. And what a feast it was! Kalamari, fish cakes, chips… What more could a person ask for?!

Monday:
It was my last admin meeting on Monday. Unfortunately we didn’t get a picture of this (I would have been pulling ugly crying faces anyway) but again, it was an emotional one. I have to say that I am going to miss my Monday mornings; it has been such a pleasure to work with all of those on the team. I have been able to learn so much from each of them in so many different ways. It has been an awesome year sitting around that table. 

Tuesday:
Last night, we had our life group social to celebrate the end of term, and we went bowling. I know that I am not very good at said activity, but it was definitely a whole load of fun. Needless to say, Chloe’s run up to bowl was the most entertaining thing I have ever witnessed and we have a surprisingly large amount of people in the group that must secretly train for evenings such as this. Nicola, for example, is now the highest scoring woman. I am certainly going to miss being around this group of people – they’re pretty great. 

I’m going to stop writing now, because I am going to find myself getting emotional again. So I’ll catch up with you all again after I have been on my holiday!

Leave a Reply

