Changes

I’m not going to lie, before sitting down at my desk to start writing, I was completely uninspired. I had not a clue what I was going to write about and I think I must have re-written this introduction about 5 times. And that got me thinking. Dangerous, I know. 

This time last year I was also feeling pretty uninspired. I had just gotten rid of an horrendous sickness bug and I was about to start writing my final exams. And as soon as they were over, I would be moving to a completely different continent. And I had written and written and written about all of these things, enough to bore everyone that was reading it. I had reached a point where creative juices were no longer flowing and I had no motivation to open up my laptop and just start writing. 

But a lot has changed in the past year, and I think I would describe myself as a completely different person. Even though I was uninspired 20 minutes ago, I allowed myself to just let my hands move across the keyboard and see what happened, rather than completely shutting myself down (excuse the pun) and giving up because my brain wasn’t working fast enough. Now, I am not saying that my brain now works faster – I now know that if I give myself a little bit of time to think and not pressure myself, things will actually get done quicker. 

As much as I could babble on for hours about how much I have changed over the past 11 months, I think I will save all of this for an epic blog post in a few weeks time. Today was just a taster.  And don’t worry, I am inspired about them! I’ve even begun planning them in advance! 

 

Leave a Reply

