Just Do Something

Yesterday, I started reading the book that my dad sent me for my birthday, entitled “Just Do Something” by Kevin DeYoung. The whole premise of the book is finding God’s will for your life when you literally have no idea what it is. Now, you may all be wondering why my dad would send me a book about this sort of thing, but he had serious reason to. I had dreams and aspirations but I don’t think owning a library is a realistic one… and I was struggling with what was coming next for me; the future was a scary thought.

On opening this book, I was surprised (in a good way) at how blunt it was. It lays life out on the table and explains how there is too much going on. We have too many choices so we are lost when it comes to making the final decision. This got me thinking.

I am only half way through reading it, but already, I am aware that there are times when you just have to step out in faith and trust that God will be there to hold you in the decision that you make. When it comes to it, we really just need to bite the bullet and actually make a decision because otherwise we will be sitting and waiting around like melons, waiting for God to tell us our life story when He’s probably not going to tell you. 

So, that means, I just need to make a decision about what I am going to do when I get back to the UK in July. I know God made it clear that coming to South Africa was the right decision, but I think this time, I have to make the decision. I can’t wait until the last minute to choose so I might as well just do something. It doesn’t mean I don’t need to pray that it is still the right decision, but it does mean that I might just have to go with my gut on this one. 

Sometimes, we just need to do something and once we look back at how we got there, we will see the hand of God at work. It just may not be as obvious in the moment – no writing in the sky this time!

One thought on “Just Do Something

Leave a Reply

