Joy In The Simple Things

What makes you happy?

Is it your career, your friends, family, the sun, a good night’s sleep even?

There’s a whole bunch of things that you can try and build around yourself to increase your happiness and often it comes with the expectation that it all has to be perfect. According to a recent study done at Princeton University, it’s said that a person can’t be truly happy unless they earn a salary of at least $75,000 per year (£58,485/R981,480). Now, if I’m not mistaken, that’s actually a lot of money – more than the average person would earn anyway! So does that mean that I can’t be happy or show any signs of pure joy because I don’t have enough money to put a smile on my face?! I know I’m no scientist or epic researcher but I’m pretty certain that statistics like that are wrong. 

When you experience true joy, there’s nothing like it. There is this feeling inside of you that is completely unexplainable; it is an incredible affair. And I have found that it is made up of so many independent elements – it’s never just one thing that makes me joyful. But joy is different for everyone, so how can there be an algorithm for how to get happy? I know that a career won’t make me really happy but for some, they thrive. 

Yet, what if I told you that I knew where you could find joy. A joy that would be unique to you and would fill you right to the core? A smile would light up your face often and tears of laughter would run down your cheeks rather than tears of sadness. That’s what I want in any case! And the best part? You can get it for free! I know, that sells anything to anyone these days. 

It says in Psalm 34 vs 5, “Those who look to him for help will be radiant with joy; no shadow of shame will darken their faces.” The definition of radiant is: shining or glowing brightly. And apparently a glowing complexion is quite desirable. 

I Peter 1 vs 8 says, “you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy.” If anyone says they don’t want to feel that, they’re probably lying because that sounds pretty awesome.

There is something about having an encounter with God that fills me to the core with such a joy that I physically cannot stop laughing. Like, belly laughing. And I can’t explain what’s going on inside. It’s just God making me happy!

Feeling that joy for myself makes me want to see everyone else feel the way I do because there’s honestly nothing better. No career, no amount of money, no relationship will make you feel as happy as God will. Moreover, if you want it, all you have to do is ask for it. It’s as easy as that. He wants to give you this “inexpressible and glorious joy” because it’s His desire to see His children happy. I’ll take it any day.

So if anyone needs me, I’ll be in the corner laughing…

Leave a Reply

