Was 2016 really that bad?

I guess many of you will be expecting a post about New Year and what I have been up to over the last week, but due to a rogue incident involving a toilet and a phone I am unable to get to my photos currently. But considering I have been in South Africa for the last 6 months and it is the beginning of the year, I thought it would be nice to have a look back at the year I have had and share it all with you.

January started off with a bang and 2016 was a year that I was very much looking forward to it. It was the year that I was finishing school, moving abroad and I was sat with a group of friends that I cherished. January was also the month that I booked my tickets to come to South Africa, the month where everything just became a little bit more real.

In February, I had a chest x-ray to make sure that I didn’t have TB, otherwise they wouldn’t have let me in to SA. I also had to think about all the other things necessary for me getting to South Africa as well as trying to study. 

48b8a3e4a18d60f034d3cfa57b0bd2

In March, I had still not had all of my medical reports done so I could apply for my visa. I struggled with receptionists, seeing the wrong doctor and trying to get everything done on time. It was proving to be quite difficult. But I was still feeling confident about God’s plans for me and was very much looking forward to all the rest of the year held for me. I also went to Belgium and France with my history teacher and some of the guys from my class. Now, that was a lot of fun!

April was my birthday month! And it was great. I was surprised with theatre tickets to go and see Billy Elliott by some awesome friends, and they even made me a pretty fabulous cake. I have to say that I was well and truly spoiled this month. But it was also the month where Dad and I took the trip to London to apply for my visa. I have never been so nervous to do something and I was just freaking out that something was going to go wrong. But it didn’t and then we went to the natural history museum to reward ourselves before we had to make the long journey home. April was a very busy month but it was very enjoyable.

I came down with a horrible sickness bug in May and it wiped me out for just over a week. It was not a nice time for me. Yet, whilst I was feeling very sorry for myself, I got my visa through the post and it made me very excited to think that I was going to make it to South Africa. The only thing that would hold me back at this point was the thought of getting on a plane. I also made the best fudge ever in May but it was eaten by the dog. To say I was annoyed was an understatement!

IMG_0910

June came, along with Arno and Claire! They flew across the pond to the UK and it was great seeing them and getting to know them better before I moved into their house the following month. It also heralded the start of exam season, which made me feel like I was very much unprepared for life. But the questions we got in the exams were much nicer than any of us ever expected so it made us feel much better after the season was over. 

Now July was a busy month. We had our Sixth Form Prom which was a lot of fun, Ellie and I went to France for a day and I moved to South Africa. Much easier just to put photos in here! 

August came and so did the feeling of home. I was enjoying being in South Africa more and I was very much looking forward to what the next year had in store for me. 

IMG_1372

I was very much enjoying all that I was doing in South Africa by the time September came around and I was beginning to notice more and more of the cultural differences between here and there. I think this is probably what made me feel homesick, but you will be pleased to know that I do not feel homesick any more. I am loving South Africa more and more each day! But shock of the month is that I went to the Hudson Matric Dance and was only told that I was going 10 minutes before we had to leave; that was an adventure and a half!

I went on a missions trip in October with some of the youth. We went to a place just outside of King Williamstown to help the kids there get to know Jesus better. But we went as the activities team, just there to have fun! And it was just that!

November was the season for lots and lots of social things! Everyone began to go on holiday and there were different parties to be had. We went to the beach often and ate lots of very nice food. 

And December meant beach trips and Christmas! Which was loads and loads of fun. I’m not going to lie, I did feel homesick over Christmas but I knew that would happen and I am very much looking forward to 2017 now! 

Right, I must go! I need to pack as I am off to Cape Town tomorrow! Don’t worry; I will take lots of pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

