My Thoughts On The US Presidential Elections…

Today, I was going to write just another blog post on how my past week has been and all that I have been up to, but considering the significance of this day, I thought I would talk about something a bit different. 

You see, what started off as a joke to the majority of the American population, has now become reality. The result has shocked not only the USA but the rest of the world; it was something that was never expected to be taken this far. Today is the day that Donald Trump has become the 45th president of the United States of America.

This is where people reading this will think I am offering my opinion on who would have made a better president or even that Trump will make a good president. But I have never been one to take sides, and I am not planning on starting now. Both candidates had their own problems, meaning that had I been in America I would have struggled deciding, morally, who to vote for. 

So now everyone is wondering where I am going with this blog post. If I am not going to offer an opinion, then what am I going to do?! Well, keep reading and you will find out!

the-white-house

I want to tell you all a story. One that will take us back about 2,000 years or so. This was when a man named Jesus walked this earth as both fully human and fully God. Because of who He was, He was sentenced to death on a cross – the most brutal death He could have been given. It was here that He punched a hole through the wall of sin and conquered on the cross a victory that would last forever. And now? We can stand in the victory of Christ! Because His victory is permanent.

Therefore, it doesn’t matter who wins what election, who is allies with who, who is building what wall. This victory is just temporary. Because God is seated on the throne with the most important victory in His hands. 

This is the victory that means that we don’t need to be worried about what will happen tomorrow. This is the victory that means that we don’t need to fear for our futures. This is the victory which means that we don’t need to overanalyse any given situation.

This is the victory that means that we can stand confident and secure in the fact that God is moving and is calling a generation of people to rise up and follow Him, no matter the circumstances. It doesn’t now matter who is president. Because I know that my king reigns over all things and He has a plan. It may not have been many people’s first choice of plans, but it is definitely the best one. 

Hence, I am asking you to join me in prayer, not only for the people of America, but for Donald Trump. My prayer is that over the next four years, we see God moving powerfully, in ways that have only been made possible because of the outcome of today. 

Leave a Reply

