When The Cat’s Away, The Mice Will Play…

So, this is the week where Arno and Claire have gone away and have left Chloe, Josh, Keagan and I to fend for ourselves. This is a true tale of survival, with that splash of adventure thrown in, of course. 

Let’s start with Sunday, the day before the big day came around. Claire was recovering from this awful flu that has been going around so decided not to come to church and spread her remaining germs to everyone there. Josh also realised that he had a geography project that he needed to get done so he, too, stayed home from church. This meant that it was Arno, Chloe and I heading out to church first thing in the morning, jamming out to some classic music and listening to the most entertaining story from the Olympics this year. For those that know me well, I will struggle to explain this but I feel I have to give an explanation to what I just said so I will leave a link here.

Church went down with a bang, what with Arno speaking on Revelation 20 (basically the apocalypse) and having to use very mathematical diagrams to explain his point! I have to say, I learnt a lot! 

After church, Chloe and I finished the Lord of the Rings trilogy. At this point, I must mention that I did manage to quote more of it than I anticipated and I am not ashamed to admit that I can do so! Although I am sorry if I injured Chloe in the process of getting way to excited/emotional whilst watching. Also, I have to add a quick apology to Brad, Josh and Sango who I may have scared with my over-excitedness… Oops!

lotr gif

Monday came round with the blink of an eye; it was the day when Arno and Claire would leave for a week and trust that the four of us would be responsible enough to keep the house functioning! The admin meeting went by really quickly and efficiently – in fact, we were done by 9:30am. But it was the worship meeting quickly followed by the youth meeting that kept me there until 13:20pm! I was so hungry by the time I got home but only had enough time to make a couple of ham sandwiches for Chloe and I before I picked her up from school to take her to maths tutoring. This was made all the more difficult by realising that I had run out of airtime just as I text her where I am parked. All part of the adventure I guess. Proudest moment of the day though was when Chloe realised that she knew how to direct me to Beacon Bay… this in itself is a miracle! 

We made a cheesy pasta thing for supper and chilled out with a couple of movies to end a very eventful and enjoyable first day at home alone!

Yesterday involved me procrastinating so much I had cleaned the entire top florr of the house by 9am. I then worked until Josh and Chloe got home from school when we just chilled and watched movies. It was a delightful day, topped off by having pancakes for dinner! Yummy, yummy in my tummy! (Yes, I am a responsible adult who encourages her siblings to eat healthy dinners…)

Today, Chloe is home sick from school. She too has caught the flu. But, yes, I am that sibling that makes her sister do some studying when she is sick because studying is important. But, sleep won and she succeeded in sleeping of the majority of the bug – back to school tomorrow, me thinks! But I also watched ‘The Martian’ all the way through today. It is an absolutely fantastic film and if you haven’t watched it then you should because it is awesome. 

I went shopping to get some groceries (don’t worry Arno and Claire, we will always have milk as long as I am here so that I can have endless cups of tea!). But also to get some supplies to make dinner for life group tonight. Yes, life group is at our house tonight – that is all 6 of us that aren’t dying from the plague. So, games night it is! But there is no need to fear! Although I am a highly competitive person, I aim to keep the house in one piece as I do not want to be the one responsible for curtain poles falling off the wall or tiles breaking or creating holes in the floor. I will make sure that we are all mature adults who can calmly play a game of spoons…

Tomorrow is when Arno and Claire should be worried though; it is party time! (No, I am joking and anyone that knows me well enough knows that I would love to avoid awkward social situations where people are required to dance.) Tomorrow is a day with nothing but work planned – all exciting stuff!

So really, there is no need for anyone to be worried about coming back to a broken home because there are four very responsible(ish) people living inside it and making sure that everything remains in one piece. When referring to the phrase ‘when the cat’s away, the mice will play’, you are literally referring to mice who eat pancakes for supper, live for the movie channel on DSTV, and are most active when a game of spoons is suggested. These mice are hard core!

P.S: I passed all of my final exams!

One thought on “When The Cat’s Away, The Mice Will Play…

  1. Hi Chloe, Just to say that I very much enjoy reading all about your adventure. So glad your having fun and settling in so well. Congratulations on passing your exams,well done. God Bless,Kathy xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

