Q&A Time!

I think I am just going to crack on with writing this post because there isn’t really much of an introduction I can make; people have asked me a bunch of questions, I picked the top 10 most asked generally and now my plan is to try and answer them! This could be highly entertaining…

  1. What does the ‘J’ in CJ stand for?
    Good question! I get asked this a lot actually, so it is probably a good one to post on the blog. The ‘J’ in CJ stands for Jasmine. It is my middle name and I chose to shorten my name from Chloe Jasmine to CJ when I was about 6 because I knew way too many Chloes and always happened to be really good friends with them. And it also makes it a lot easier to work out who is being spoken to in the house, considering I live with another Chloe right now!
  2. Why South Africa?
    That is something that requires a bit more thought… Basically, I was planning on going to university in the UK, preferably somewhere close to home because I thought I wouldn’t be able to cope with being too far away from home. Whilst I was doing some final revision just before my AS levels (year 12), I felt like God was saying to me that this was not the right path for me to take. University wasn’t for me and being a history teacher suddenly lost it’s appeal. So after that bombshell was dropped, I literally had no clue what I wanted to do. I was considering opening a bakery, going to do a year with a church in Brighton, doing an apprenticeship in pharmaceuticals. But everything just fell through and I didn’t think that this was the way forward for me. None of them appealed to me like teaching once did. Nothing felt like it was what God wanted me to do. 
    That was when Arno came to preach in the UK and stayed in my house. We got talking about what my plans were after I finished school to which I then explained that I had no idea. His response was: “why don’t you just come and spend a year in South Africa?” I prayed about it and suddenly all of the pieces just slotted into place. The next thing I knew, I was applying for my visa, I had saved up enough money to last me the year and I just knew that it was what God wanted me to do. So, here I am.
  3. What are you planning on doing after your year in South Africa?
    I literally have no idea is the short answer to that question. I have a couple of options: either apply for another more long term visa for here in SA, go to another country to serve God and all he wants to do in that country OR go back to the UK. At the moment, I have no clue and I am praying and praying about what is next for me. If I don’t have a clear cut answer from God (like Him audibly telling me or a prophetic word etc) then I will just go back to the UK and see what God has planned for me there. But right now, I am not sure what is going to happen; I think the best idea is to put all of my efforts into focussing on this year, rather than constantly thinking about what is next.
  4. Did you ever cut classes at your school and did you ever get caught?
    The only time I ever cut classes was in year 11 when I was studying music. I cut both Phys Ed and Compulsory Elements to be able to do my music work instead, something I found much more interesting! However, I am such a teachers pet, I asked permission from my teachers to cut their classes, leading to me getting a permanent removal from my CE lessons! So, even when I cut classes, I asked permission to do so… I know. I am seriously hard core.
  5. What has been the most eventful thing to happen in the last week?
    I don’t know what it is about Fridays but they do not seem to like me. It was on Friday that Claire mentioned that she could smell burning. I looked out of the window to see a LOT of smoke coming in our direction. Claire went outside to see what was going on and came running back in telling Chloe to ring the fire brigade and for me to wake up the guys to get them to come and help. Next door was on fire and was quite literally melting. I t was terrifying; there was so much smoke and at one point there was a serious possibility that this house might burn down too. Chloe and I had to make sure that we had got all of the important things out of the house just in case. Never in my life have I prayed so hard. Praise God, no one was hurt but the house is now just a shell with hardly anything left inside; the whole house just burned. So, I think that was the most eventful thing to happen in the last week!
  6. What is your dream job?
    My dream job is (don’t laugh) to be a school librarian. I did it in my last two years of school – I was the Learning Resource Centre Assistant and I absolutely loved it. I would quite happily do that for the rest of my life. Hence, my answer to the question is that I would be a school librarian. The link below would be my dream, I think!
    http://www.lipsonco-operativeacademy.coop/Learning-Resources-Centre/
  7. What has been your highlight of the week?
    I was saying only this morning to Abby and Jess that my week highlight has been getting buy one get one free on waffles at breakfast this morning! Was awesome!
    But in all seriousness, I absolutely loved seeing a new part of South Africa this week after spending Sunday at Kidd’s Beach with the Monaghans’. It is such a beautiful place and the people I was with were equally as lovely!

    KB

  8. What is your favourite thing about East London, South Africa?
    I know that I have been here for 5 weeks now, but I am still not 100% clued up on where everything is and what is on offer here in East London. But I have to say that I love the beach. It actually has sand! Plus, it is not the type of sand that is secretly shingle; it is real sand! That makes me happy, paired with the fact that it is quite often what us Brits would call ‘beach weather’, which is awesome! Thus, my favourite part of East London is the beach.

    Nahoon

  9. The first thing to your left is your weapon in the zombie apocalypse. What is it?
    A bottle of water. Great.
  10. What are your plans for this next week?
    Well, to finish off today, I have a youth leaders’ meeting, followed by Life Group. But for the rest of the week, I don’t have much planned. I guess, work, youth and church. I am sure it will get much busier when it comes around!

That rounds up my Q&A this week! T’was a good bit of fun, I must say! I am looking forward to this next week and I am sure it will be a great one, making my adventure even more exciting! 

Leave a Reply

