I Have Arrived!

The purpose of this blog was to keep a record of all that I have been up to in my adventure, moving to South Africa and other little things I have learnt along the way. So, after months and months of preparation and arguments with receptionists, I have arrived at my destination, East London, South Africa. But, seeing as I have been here for a couple of days already, I should probably let you all know what I have been up to and how the journey was. 

I hate planes. They honestly scare me so much! So the thought of spending 11 hours on a plane to Johannesburg and then another 1 1/2 hours on another plane to East London was not my idea of fun and meant that going to the doctors to get medication to help me sleep on the plane was a perfectly reasonable idea. And man, do they work. I was desperate to watch one of the films on the plane (My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2) so I did not take the tablet until I had finished watching it. Part of me now regrets that decision as take off and turbulence reduced me to tears, but I did love the film and would highly recommend it. In fact, I would recommend South African Airways in general, as the food was great – Dad and I had this beef stew thing that was actually quite tasty – and the staff were really friendly. Of course, I still do not like the sensation of flying, but with the tablets and other distractions, my overall experience was not too bad. 

Knowing that Johannesburg airport is renowned for luggage problems, I was a little apprehensive as to whether we would be able to collect our luggage and get the connecting flight on time. Yes, our suitcases were in the container that fell off onto the runway. Yes, our suitcases were pretty much the last to be brought through. Yes, we were rushing to try and get through to our connection. But, we made it, with plenty of time to spare, and we arrived in East London on time. 

That afternoon, we headed down to Nahoon beach and it was so nice to feel the sun on my back – an experience I have been lacking all throughout my British summer! Of course I felt overdressed in my pair of jeans but a nice paddle in a warm sea was all I needed! 

Evening came along with an epic fish braai. The braai was massive, the fish was massive and so were our appetites. It was incredible!

13690781_10154417858243939_5499705927069614647_n

Yesterday was a new day and I went into one of the shopping malls with Claire, Josh and Dad to pick up a few things. We found biltong, and it was good; gone within 45 minutes, but good! But have no fear, more has been ordered! It was a really chilled day yesterday as well, which was really nice for me as I was able to just chill and find my energy again. 

Today Chloe, Claire and I went to get some things for my bedroom to make it feel a bit more like my room. It was good fun and I think that tomorrow is going to have more fun exploring and finding more pretty things! Then we went for milkshakes. Oh my word they were good! I cannot explain how they taste because the UK does not have enough E numbers to express the taste! 

IMG_1023

We are having a pizza party this evening and I am seriously looking forward to it. I have been looking forward to one of these pizzas for the last year and I am stoked to get to try one! It is going to be awesome. 

So, to sum it all up, I have loved my first few days here in East London and I think that I am going to be very happy here for the next year. Thank you to all of you that have been praying for me for safe travels and that I settle in well; they have been very much appreciated! Needless to say, I am looking forward to what God has in store for me over the next year!

2 thoughts on “I Have Arrived!

  1. Hi CJ
    Really glad you have enjoyed first couple of days ! Just to reassure you the British sun took his hat off today and this evening had been beautiful !!!!
    Looking forward to your updates and will keep in touch xxxxxxxxxx Cassie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

