Book Review: All My Friends Are Superheroes

I was given this book, by Andrew Kaufman, by a friend who said it was one of the best books she had ever read. She wasn’t lying!

On looking at the cover and reading the blurb, I wasn’t really convinced. In fact, I was unsure whether I would pick it up and read it at all. Knowing that you should not really judge a book by it’s cover and realising it was only just over 100 pages long, I thought I would give it a try though, read the first couple of chapters and see how I got on.

You see, the clever thing about this book is not that it draws you in super quickly because of the short chapters and quirky content; it is clever because it leaves you questioning reality. It leaves you wishing that you couldn’t see the parallels between this world and the one of the novella; leaves you wondering whether this is what society has really come to; leaves you questioning whether you had a super power that could change that. Finishing the book made me think about what super power I have and whether it is really something to be proud of. Kaufman has done himself proud, taking a step back and perceptively looking into the depths and, dare I say it, uncomfortable aspects of modern society. 

Yet, not only has Kaufman managed to capture the insecurities of the Western world, but he has successfully integrated a feel good plot line, filled with romance, heartache and a bit of humour sprinkled on top. 

Needless to say, I had finished this incredible book in 2 hours, finally helping me to understand that, in fact, ‘All My Friends Are Superheroes’!

Leave a Reply

